The need for privacy-aware policies, regulations, and techniques has been widely recognized. This workshop discusses the problems of privacy in the global interconnected societies and possible solutions. The 2021 Workshop, held in conjunction with the ACM CCS conference, is the twentieth in a yearly forum for papers on all the different aspects of privacy in today's electronic society. The workshop seeks submissions from academia, industry, and government presenting novel research on all theoretical and practical aspects of electronic privacy, as well as experimental studies of fielded systems. We encourage submissions from other communities such as law and business that present these communities' perspectives on technological issues. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

access and query privacy theory of data anonymization privacy and human rights
anonymization and transparency privacy models privacy metrics
crowdsourcing for privacy and security network privacy privacy in mobile systems
data correlation and leakage attacks personally identifiable information privacy in outsourced scenarios
data security and privacy privacy-aware access control privacy in sensor networks
data and computations integrity in emerging scenarios privacy and anonymity on the Web privacy in surveillance systems
electronic communication privacy privacy in big data privacy policies
economics of privacy privacy in biometric systems privacy of provenance data
information dissemination control privacy in cloud and grid systems privacy in social networks
insider-threat protection privacy and data mining privacy threats
models, languages, and techniques for big data protection privacy in the digital business privacy and virtual identity
anonymization of text, unstructured data and multimedia privacy in the Internet of Things user privacy
anonymization of longitudinal data and streams privacy enhancing technologies wireless privacy
statistical disclosure control privacy in health care and public administration

Submission Instructions

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Submissions should be no more than 12 pages in the ACM double-column format, excluding the bibliography and well-marked appendices. Committee members are not required to read the appendices, and so the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions should not be anonymized. The workshop will also consider short submissions of up to 4 pages for results that are preliminary or that simply require few pages to describe. Authors of regular submitted papers will indicate at the time of submission whether they would like their paper to also be considered for publication as a short paper (4 proceedings pages).

Submissions are to be made to the submission web site at Only PDF files will be accepted. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Papers must be received by the deadline of July 16, 2021 August 7, 2021 - 11:59 PM American Samoa time to be considered. Notification of acceptance or rejection will be sent to authors by September 7, 2021.

Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the workshop.

Important Dates

Paper Submission due: July 16, 2021 extended to August 7, 2021 - 11:59 PM American Samoa time
Notification to authors: September 7, 2021
Camera ready due: September 20, 2021

Program Chairs

Giovanni Livraga
Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Noseong Park
Yonsei University, South Korea

Program Committee

Alessandro Acquisti Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Erman Ayday Case Western Reserve University, USA
Jonas Böhler SAP, Germany
Bogdan Carbunar Florida International University, USA
Chris Clifton Purdue University, USA
Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Simone Fischer-Hübner Karlstad University, Sweden
Sébastien Gambs Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada
Joaquin Garcia-Alfaro Telecom SudParis, France
Jaap-Henk Hoepman Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands
Sanghyun Hong University of Maryland College Park, USA
Aaron Johnson U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Ghassan Karame NEC Labs, Germany
Stefan Katzenbeisser Universität Passau, Germany
Alptekin Kupcu Koc University, Turkey
Adam J. Lee University of Pittsburgh, USA
Zhou Li University of California Irvine, USA
Wouter Lueks EPFL, Switzerland
Sjouke Mauw University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Catherine Meadows U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Weizhi Meng Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
David Mohaisen University of Central Florida, USA
Catuscia Palamidessi INRIA, France
Panagiotis Papadimitratos KTH, Stockholm, Sweden
Dimitrios Papadopoulos UST Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Stefano Paraboschi Università degli Studi di Bergamo, Italy
Gerardo Pelosi Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Günther Pernul University of Regensburg, Germany
Ruben Rios Universidad de Malaga, Spain
Reihaneh Safavi-Naini University of Calgary, Canada
Pierangela Samarati Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Nishanth Sastry University of Surrey, UK
Nitesh Saxena University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
Cristian-Alexandru Staicu CISPA, Germany
Thorsten Strufe Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Paul Syverson U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Tamir Tassa The Open University of Israel, Israel
Vicenç Torra Umeå Universitet, Sweden
Nikos Triandopoulos Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
Rolando Trujillo Deakin University, Australia
Cong Wang City University of Hong Kong
Lingyu Wang Concordia University, Canada
Ting Yu Qatar Computing Research Institute, Qatar
Jiawei Yuan University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, USA
Lei Zhang East China Normal University, China
Shafiq Zubair University of California, Davis, USA

Steering Committee

Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Sushil JajodiaGeorge Mason University, USA
Pierangela Samarati (Chair) Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Paul SyversonNaval Research Laboratory, USA